Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Alice Munro, Nobel Laureate and Master of the Short Story, Dies at 92

Alice Munro, the revered Canadian author who started writing short stories because she did not think she had the time or the talent to master novels, then stubbornly dedicated her long career to churning out psychologically dense stories that dazzled the literary world and earned her the Nobel Prize in Literature, died on Monday night in Port Hope, Ontario, east of Toronto. She was 92. Read her New York Times obituary here.

Alice Munro, the Canadian short story writer and Nobel Prize laureate, has published numerous collections over her career. Here is a list of her books in order of publication:

1. Dance of the Happy Shades** (1968)
2. Lives of Girls and Women** (1971)
3. Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You** (1974)
4. Who Do You Think You Are?** (1978) (published in the U.S. as **The Beggar Maid**)
5. The Moons of Jupiter** (1982)
6. The Progress of Love** (1986)
7. Friend of My Youth** (1990)
8. Open Secrets** (1994)
9. The Love of a Good Woman** (1998)
10. Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage** (2001) (published in the U.S. as **Hateship, Loveship, Courtship, Marriage**)
11. Runaway** (2004)
12. The View from Castle Rock** (2006)
13. Too Much Happiness** (2009)
14. Dear Life** (2012)

Additionally, Munro has several stories that have been included in various anthologies and some collections of selected stories have been published.

COPYRIGHT 2007-2024 Patti Friday b.1959.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...